Debunking Australian Stereotypes

I’m sure every country has stereotypes attached to it – like England and drinking tea; Scotland and it’s skirts/dresses kilts; America and…I’ve got nothing, but I’m sure there is something (apart from the fact that they do drive on the wrong side of the road).

But Australia has by far the WORST and STUPIDEST that I have ever seen for a country. And I am going to debunk them…with the help of my pet koala and kangaroo.

1. Australia is just one big red desert.

Um…hello? Or here:

2. Every animal is trying to kill you.

Many of the world’s most venomous snakes are found in Australia, and one of the most dangerous spiders in the world, the funnel-web, is commonly found in Sydney homes. With technology in anti-venoms and treatments, it is rare to die from a snake or spider bite in Australia.

The north of Australia is home to the world’s largest species of crocodile, the salt water crocodile. Males can occasionally grow to lengths of over 6 metres, big enough to swallow anyone whole! Each year one or two people are eaten by crocodiles in Australia. You can greatly reduce your risk of being eaten by not camping next to an enclosed riverbank that has a sign saying, ‘Warning: Crocodiles’.

[Source: https://theplanetd.com/gday-some-aussie-stereotypes/]

No, we DO NOT have crocodiles roaming our streets on a daily basis. That is an EXTREMELY, EXTREMELY rare occurrence from high flooding.

Most of our deadly animals live out in the Outback, NOT THE TOWNS/CITIES!!!

Not every single animal in Australia is deadly, like this little guy:

See? Two Australian Shepherds. Dogs. They’re not tearing us to bits, eating our brains out or anything, are they?

3. Australians are always drunk.

I’m Australian and I ain’t drunk! Never have, never will be. And that goes for all the other people in our town that I see on a daily basis on walks. As someone else said:

So what if we like to have a good time? No more than anyone else…

{Source: https://www.buzzfeed.com/bradesposito/aus-stereo}

4. All Australians eat is Vegemite for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

A lot of Australians (like others around the world) detest Vegemite. It is an acquired taste, to say the least, and is usually spread very thinly on hot buttered toast for breakfast. Tim Tams are the preferred treat of every Aussie household, chocolate coated chocolate biscuits with chocolate cream in the middle – you can’t get much better than that!

https://theplanetd.com/gday-some-aussie-stereotypes/

Okay, I love Vegemite, it is addictive, but we do have other things to eat.

5. All Australians ride kangaroos to work.

We do not ride them to school. Kangaroos and koalas rarely come into the cities, but if you venture inland to the country communities you should be able to find some. Just don’t try to pat them.

6. Every Australian can surf.

Damn, I wish I could.

7. Also, all Australians live by the beach.

Brush up on your geography. Seriously. You will find that there are plenty of towns and cities scattered throughout Australia that ARE NOWHERE NEAR A BEACH!!! The majority do live by the beach, but certainly not all.

8. All Australians are really, really tan.

9. Australians cook all their food on a “barbie.”

What about the oven in my kitchen? Or the stove? Or a microwave?

10. It never snows in Australia, it’s just ALWAYS HOT.

Need I say more?

11. You all wear “budgie smugglers” at the beach.

No, we don’t. Some of us wear other clothes.

12. All Australians are OBSESSED with AC/DC.

My family and I HATE AC/DC.

13. All Australians drink Fosters.

My family and I DO NOT. Just stop. Get a life. I mean it.

14. Australia has no culture.

We are a MULTI-CULTURE country. It’s part of our national identity.

Please not the words “At the Australia Day parade”. And then there is art galleries, etc. We do try.

15. Australians drive on the wrong side of the road.

That’s Americans. We DO NOT. We are driving on the side of the road that the Law has stipulated we should drive on, just like every other damn country.

16. Australian only eat meat.

I eat chips, chocolate, bread, butter, potato, vegetables, pasta, cheese, etc.

JUST BLOODY STOP!!!

17. Australians live for meat pies.

I love meat pies, but I don’t “live” for it! They’re just a great snack, is all.

18. Australians also live for Tim Tams.

19. Australians wear thongs all day, every day.

It’s a summer thing and I tend to wear shoes and boots. I don’t like wearing thongs.

20. And, all Australians have a pet koala.

No, we don’t. If we want to see a koala, we go to the zoo or the bush.

Sydney is the capital, or maybe it’s Melbourne?

It’s Canberra.

Oh, and we don’t speak in slang all day, every day, all the time. I have hardly ever used Aussie slang and I have grown up in Australia. I wouldn’t know the majority of Aussie slang if I tripped over it.

You can take what I say as bona fide fact because I was born in Australia, raised in Australia and still live in Australia.

Feel free to vent about any stereotypes you have about your country that annoys you in the comments below.

63 thoughts on “Debunking Australian Stereotypes

  1. Whoa, pump the brakes there Rue. It’s you Australians that drive on the wrong side of the road and your toilets flush in the wrong direction as well!

    Nice try Rue, but I’m pretty sure that all Australians fit every single one of those stereotypes.

    Next time, don’t get drunk on fosters before you publish a post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ha ha, hilarious. Our toilets flush the same way as everyone else’s.
      I can assure you the stereotypes are all wrong. Would you believe that some Americans actually believe that we don’t have any phone lines here in Australia?!? What destroyed their brain cells?
      Here are the 7 biggest stereotypes about America:
      https://www.businessinsider.com.au/stereotypes-of-americans-usa-2018-6?r=US&IR=T
      And the one about Americans being utterly ignorant about the rest of the world is true. They are the most common culprit for spouting stupid stuff about Australia. I watched a video where people were pointing out that a lot of Americans don’t know geography AT ALL.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yeah, all hot, I totally agree! Neither do I. I had never even heard of Fosters until I read an article about these ridiculous Aussie myths. And did you notice that it’s Americans who seem to be the main one spouting this rubbish?
        I had a good laugh (and rolled my eyes a few times).
        Did you know that some Americans think that we don’t have any phone lines here in Oz?

        Liked by 2 people

      2. And that they can drive from Sydney to Auckland, across the bridge…
        I was astounded when doing a tour of Brittania years ago, all the bars had Fosters on tap, and bar cloths. Really? The Queen had to approve of it!? Maybe she’s not a beer drinker. It was not G&T, or Pimms, on tap. But Fosters???? 😂

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Well, when doing Geography in schoolwork, I was not taught about the location of the towns/cities in New Zealand – just Australia, the country I come from…
        …Great – I’ve just realized how Americans are so dumb about the geography of countries that they don’t come from.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. One is one the North Island. One is on the South Island. The islands aren’t connected, so you can’t drive straight from one point to the other.

        Like

      5. Only once? Figures, LOL! JK. Once a group of three girls in a car found J-M very attractive – giggled and waved at him as they passed. Why, I have no idea. (J-M, if you read this, I’m just stirring).

        Liked by 2 people

  2. When someone writes an paragraph he/she maintains the thought of a user in his/her brain that how a user
    can be aware of it. Therefore that’s why this article
    is perfect. Thanks!

    Like

  3. With havin so much content and articles do
    you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website
    has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems
    a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without
    my permission. Do you know any ways to help stop content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    Like

Leave a comment